CLICK ON IMAGES BELOW TO ENLARGE

AMENITIES/SERVICES INCLUDE

ROOMS EQUIPPED WITH

Fully Air Conditioned Split Air Conditioners
Baby Cots 100% Cotton Bed Linen
Nails & Pedicure Bar Fridges (unstocked)
BBQ Areas Bath Sheets & Face Towels
Breakfast Down & Anti Allergic Pillows
Dinner Hairdryers
Fax Facility Hotel Bouquet incl. Mnet/E-TV/Kyknet
Laundry Service Overhead Fans
Limited Room Service Private Patios
Swimming Pool Tea & Coffee Making Facilities
Free WiFi
Travel Arrangements

CLICK HERE TO GO TO OUR LINKS
Prince Albert

LAGE | GESCHICHTE | DIE MENSCHEN | GESCHÄFTE

LAGE
Prince Albert liegt 44 km. östlich von der Autobahn N1 entfert an der Prince Albert Road (R407). Prince Albert wird das Tor zu dem beeindruckenden Swartberg Gebirge mit dem berühmten Swartberg Pass genannt, gleichwie der sonnendurchfluteten Halbwüste der Karoo und der Garden Route an der Küste mit ihrem gemäßigten Klima.

Die stille Schönheit der weiten Karoo and die imposanten Bergformationen auf dem Weg zu dieser malerischen und sehr interessanten kleinen Stadt sind unvergesslich. Prince Albert ist ein "Muss" auf der Reise durch Südafrika und ist leicht von der Garden Route aus (N2), Route 62 oder der Autobahn (N1) zu erreichen.

Strategisch angesiedelt, bleibt Prince Albert der ideale Ausgangspunkt, von dem aus Sie diese einzigartig interessante und schöne Gegend Südafrikas erkunden können.

GESCHICHTE
Die nachweisbar ersten Bewohner der Region waren Buschmänner, und es gibt hier viele Zeugen ihrer Kultur, wie zum Beispiel ihre Höhlenzeichnungen.

Das Stadtgebiet von Prince Alfred liegt auf einer der ersten "Lehensfarmen" , die 1762 in dieser Region erhältlich waren. Die ursprüngliche Farm, auf der Prince Alfred jetzt angesiedelt ist, wurde einem Zacharias De Beer zugeteilt. In dem guten Boden dieser Gegend legte er Obstplantagen, Weinberge und Weizenfelder an. Mit seinem Wasserreichtum gab es reiche Ernten und bald wurde die "Farm" zur Zwischenstation für Reisende und Forschungsreisende, die sich von ihren anstrengenden Fahrten durch die Berge und über die Durststrecken der Karoo erholen und ausruhen wollten.

1842 wurde in der Stadt eine Reformierte Gemeinde gegründet. Damals hieß der Ort noch Albertsberg. Einer Legende nach wurde das Städtchen dann offiziell zu Ehren von Königin Victorias Ehemann Prince Albert genannt.

Es gibt ungefähr 17 Gebäude, unter ihnen die Reformierte Kirche mit dem Kirchensaal, die Albertsmühle und das Pfarrhaus der Reformierten Kirche, die heute unter Denkmalsschutz stehen und das Erbe und die schöne Architektur von Prince Albert für die Nachwelt erhalten.

DIE MENSCHEN
Die Leute, die hier leben, haben den Ruf herzlicher Gastlichkeit und sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit zu sein. Die Bewohner des Städtchens haben ihre Freude daran, Besucher in die Geschichten und Histörchen der Gegend einzuweihen. Nehmen Sie sich die Zeit für eine Stadtführung oder ziehen Sie selber auf Erkundung aus, Sie treffen garantiert auf jemanden, der Sie bereitwillig in die interessante Geschichte und wichtigen Begebenheiten der Stadt einweihen wird.

GESCHÄFTE
In der Church Street und einigen Seitenstraßen gibt es reizvolle und einzigartige kleine Geschäfte . Berühmt sind handgewebte und -gestrickte Kleidungsstücke aus feinstem Mohair und reiner Wolle, Decken und Teppiche. Sie finden sicherlich etwas, das Ihnen gefällt und Ihrem Geldbeutel entspricht.

Die örtliche Guernsey Molkerei versorgt die Stadt mit köstlichem selbstgemachten Käse und Joghurt und mit Milch und Sahne.

Kaufen Sie frische, vor Ort produzierte Erzeugnisse, Marmeladen, Oliven, Olivenöl, sonnengetrocknete Feigen und vieles mehr, das samstags auf dem Markt angeboten wird.

Da die meisten Restaurants keine Lizenz zum Alkoholverkauf haben, bringen Sie sich am besten Ihren Lieblingswein gleich mit. Im Ort gibt es ein paar gut sortierte Weinhandlungen. Und lassen Sie sich dann in einem der netten Restaurants verwöhnen.

Prince Albert hat auch eine gut sortierte Apotheke . Und falls ein Medikament nicht auf Lager ist, wird man es Ihnen gern besorgen.

Und vergessen Sie nicht, genug Film und Batterien für Ihren Fotoapparat mitzubringen. In und um Prince Albert gibt es so viele wunderbare Motive!

ALL CONTENT © KAROO LODGE 2004 - 2011

CLICK ON IMAGES BELOW TO ENLARGE

AMENITIES/SERVICES INCLUDE

ROOMS EQUIPPED WITH

Fully Air Conditioned Split Air Conditioners
Baby Cots 100% Cotton Bed Linen
Nails & Pedicure Bar Fridges (unstocked)
BBQ Areas Bath Sheets & Face Towels
Breakfast Down & Anti Allergic Pillows
Dinner Hairdryers
Fax Facility Hotel Bouquet incl. Mnet/E-TV/Kyknet
Laundry Service Overhead Fans
Limited Room Service Private Patios
Swimming Pool Tea & Coffee Making Facilities
Free WiFi
Travel Arrangements

CLICK HERE TO GO TO OUR LINKS
Prince Albert

LOCATION | HISTORY | THE PEOPLE | SHOPS

LOCATION
Prince Albert is situated only 44 kms off the main N1 highway in an easterly direction on the Prince Albert Road (R407). Prince Albert is considered the gateway to the breathtaking Swartberg Mountains, the famed Swartberg Pass, the sundrenched Karoo Plains and the temperate regions of the Garden Route.

The serene beauty of the vast Karoo plains and the magnificent mountain formations remain unequalled as you wind your way to this picturesque and very interesting town. Prince Albert is a "must do" on anyone's itinerary and can be easily accessed from the Garden Route (N2), Route62 or the highway (N1).

Strategically positioned, Prince Albert remains the most ideal base from where you can explore the marvels of this most unique and interesting region in South Africa.

HISTORY
It is well documented that Bushmen were the earliest inhabitants of Prince Albert as relics and remains of the Bushmen culture are evident throughout the region e.g. Bushmen Rock Paintings.

The town of Prince Albert lies on one of the first "loan farms" which was made available in 1762 in the district. The original loan farm on which Prince Albert is now established was allocated to Zacharias De Beer who established fruit orchards, vineyards and wheatfields in the fertile soil of the region. With an abundance of water, crops were bountiful and soon the "farm" became a stopover for travellers and explorers needing refreshment and a resting place during their long treks through the mountains and plains of the Karoo.

A Dutch Reformed Church parish was established in the town during 1842 when Prince Albert was known as Albertsberg. Legend has it that the village was officially named Prince Albert in honour of Queen Victoria's husband.

There are in the region of 17 buildings, amongst these the Dutch Reformed Church and hall, the Albert's Mill, Dutch Reformed Church Parsonage which have received national monument status thus preserving the heritage and fine architecture of Prince Albert.

PEOPLE
The folk of Prince Albert are renowned for their unequalled hospitality and kindness. The residents of the town delight in sharing anecdotes and history of the town and its people. Spend a day strolling the village streets on a guided tour or at your leisure and you are bound to bump into a local who will eagerly share the town's interesting history and happenings.

SHOPS
There are several appealing and unique little shops to be found on Church Street and just off Church Street. Well known for the finest mohair and hand woven pure wool garments, blankets and carpets. You will surely find an item to suite your pocket.

The local Guernsey dairy supplies the town with delicious home-made cheeses, fresh yoghurt, milk and cream.

Buy fresh local produce, jams, preserves, olives, olive oil, sundried figs and much more at the local market held on each Saturday.

There is an amply stocked chemist store in the village. Personnel will gladly arrange medication etc for you should they not have a specific item in stock.

Don't forget to pack in extra film and batteries for your cameras which you are sure to run out of due to ample photo opportunities in and around Prince Albert.

ALL CONTENT KAROO LODGE 2004 - 2011